James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership

The 25th anniversary of the Møller Centre provided a platform to announce that the Møller Institute is now the official home of the James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership.

Formerly known as the Center for Political Leadership and Participation, the Academy was founded in 1982 at the University of Maryland, College Park, and became the first academic programme in the USA to support emerging leaders seeking elective office.  The James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership was founded on the belief that there is leadership within every person.

This key knowledge, expertise and research base along with an active network of Academy alumni underpins our strong focus on practical leadership development in the pedagogical design of our programmes. Internationally renowned US Leadership Scholar Professor Georgia Sorenson, founder of the James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership and co-founder of the International Leadership Association joined the Møller Institute in June 2015 as Leadership Scholar and Møller By-Fellow of Churchill College.

We are delighted and very proud to be informed by, as well as house the wisdom, resources and legacy of The James MacGregor Burns Academy of Leadership at the Møller Institute.

Working in partnership with the Academy we have developed a special Leadership Resource Hub that houses these resources and provide a space for Associates, scholars, executives and practitioners to study, research and develop further understanding on the subject of leadership.

At the launch event in September 2017, Professor Georgia Sorenson said, “We are pleased to place the legacy and future of the work of leadership scholar and political scientist James MacGregor Burns at with the Møller Institute at Churchill College. He loved the idea of bringing leadership studies to this esteemed institution and yes, he loved the idea of so many women leaders involved in our collaboration.”

James MacGregor Burns was an American historian and political scientist, presidential biographer, and authority on leadership studies. He was best known for his contributions to the transactional, transformational, aspirational, and visionary schools of leadership theory. Read more.